The Creative Bug

Six months or so later and I’m back again…

Baby number 2 has arrived well and healthy and baby number 1 is very excited gioving him lots of hugs and kisses all the time.  In general this year has been a pretty amazing improvement so far, (those famous last words).

One of the reasons I decided to come back over here is that creative bug has been itching away, and as happens usually with me, once I’ve been working for a while on a channel it becomes a little bit too easy and so now I’m looking for the next challenge both work wise and elsewhere.  Having a two and a half year old and a two month old baby may seem a crazy time to want to start making something or writing something, but now things are kind of under control I really need to get working on something.

My first love has always been photography and it’s one I’ve never actually wanted to do as a career it’s as if I love taking pictures for myself too much to become jaded taking them for others and having to change what I want to do for someone else.  Whatever I work on I usually can no longer enjoy in my own time, sport for example is slowly becoming unwatchable for me in my free time due to working at a sports channel, for a long time I couldn’t really watch panel shows or Top Gear due to working on Dave.  So I think this is why it has made it harder for me to write and film and edit as I do this every day for other people.  That or laziness.

So a new camera is on the cards sooner rather than later and if I go for something like the Canon 550D it could also double for some video work.  I’m thinking more and more of moving away from narrative film making and something a little bit artier (or poncier some might say).  Either way I think it’s time to do something a bit more for me and me alone.

Leave a Reply

