And the Ball is finally Rolling…

As always it’s been a while and as always much has happened, finally I’ve got the ball rolling.

I’m getting more and more active in the world of scriptwriting with my Wife and scriptwriting partner, with a couple of Sitcom pilots done, one a first draft, one a third draft that’s already been entered and rejected at a BAFTA competition. It was never about winning though, there was a small fee with the promise of notes on what we had written, and that’s what we’ve been waiting for, some first professional feedback, I just hope it’s not too scathing. Being the first thing we have written together I’m sure there are problems and some good constructive criticism will hopefully spur us on for draft four.

On the subject of writing I’ve also been doing a lot 140 characters at a time. Twitter has become an invaluable support network for writing and making contacts, (go on have a gander over on the top right over there, yup that’s a twitter feed, and oh look a follow button, off you go press away and you too can hear my ramblings and links). Every Sunday night at 8pm I’ve become involved in #Scriptchat where writers get together online and talk about writing, or films, or interrogate a guest. Teenie and I have also been asked to become the Euro moderators for this which involves moving the conversation along and making sure everything stays civil, we also need to pick topics and find guests. Doing this together is great as invariably one of us is being called upstairs by the kids who refuse to sleep whilst it’s all going on.

I see the other people involved in scriptchat and I compare them to greyhounds, knowing what they want rushing to the finish line full of talent and knowledge, me, I’m a Golden Retriever, perfectly happy and enthusiastic chasing my own tail full of enthusiasm, I don’t know as much as a lot of people there, but I’m enjoying myself. Hopefully we can get some interesting guests lined up, I have a few ideas.

Also on the Film Making front, I attended the Guerilla Film Making Masterclass a two and a half day event giving a whirlwind of information about making an ultra low budget film, what to do with it, and what to do next. Chris Jones was talking the entire time over two very long days and held everyone’s attention the whole time which is no mean feat in a room of know it all film makers. It was fantastic to attend not just for the information and inspiration but to be surrounded by all these film makers for the weekend, some very experienced, some had never even made a short and I met some fantastic people, and hopefully collaborators in the future.

The networking then continued last weekend with an impromptu barbecue where I’d arranged to meet someone to talk about a project and before I knew it I’m directing a weekly Sci-Fi news show for the Sci-Fi London film festival, we had a meeting last night and it all looks very promising and interesting, lots of good entusiastic people involved, and unlike writing features, directing is something I know a huge amount about as it’s basically my day job making short turn around features and promos. Also there’s a producer on board which is fantastic as I hate the whole organising aspect of shoots, I can just go and make stuff, and it’s in an area I really enjoy.

And that all pretty much came out of the Guerilla Film Making masterclass, so definitely money well spent.

So what’s on the to do list, well we’ve committed to the first 20 minute Sci-Fi show by the end of the month, I’m officially being harassed by Teenie for a second draft of our sitcom, and #Sciptchat continues every Sunday. There’s also a short script I’d like to rework and I’ve been meaning to sign up to Radar Music Videos to pitch and direct some music promos. Now I’ve got the ball rolling lets hope I don’t get squished by it.

Leave a Reply

